Toolbar

You can use the toolbar on the Designer page to:

Note: Only available for workflows that have been upgraded from Nintex for Office 365.

 

Save a workflow

Saving a workflow allows you to keep the design for later. Note that saving a workflow, whether new or existing, does not publish the workflow.

Caution: If you edit a published workflow and save the changes, it becomes a draft version of that workflow and is given the status Draft in the Workflow list page.

Publish a workflow

Publishing a workflow makes it available to run when the configured start event The connector and event for triggering the workflow to run, including required configuration. An example is Box - New file, which triggers the workflow to run when a new file is uploaded to the specified folder. occurs. When you publish, you decide if the workflow is counted against your workflow subscription license A Nintex Workflow Cloud administrator who have permissions to manage users plus permissions of other roles. as production or development. The workflow status on the Workflows page indicates the status of the workflow.

You can restrict the users who can publish production workflows by changing settings in the Workflow settings page.

Important: 
  • Publishing a workflow using engine v2 upgrades the workflow to engine v2.

Request to publish a production workflow

Publishing production workflows may be restricted to certain roles or groups, using the Workflow publishing setting in workflow settings. Global Administrators and Automation administrators can configure the workflow publishing settings to select users who can publish production workflows.

If you don't have permission to publish a production workflow, when publishing a workflow the Request publish option is shown when you select Production as the Assigned use and you must submit a request to publish the workflow.

Note: 
  • Global administrators and Automation administrators can always publish production workflows.

  • Applies only to production workflows. Development workflows can be published by all designers and developers.

When a publish request is sent for a workflow:

  • The Status of the workflow is shown as Publish requested in the Workflows page and you can identify the workflows waiting to be published via the status. If you have permission to publish workflows you can open the workflow and publish it. When a workflow is published, the status of the workflow changes to Published.

  • An email notification is sent to the members of the groups if the relevant option is selected in the Workflow settings page.

For more information about the Workflow publishing setting, see Workflow publishing.

View workflow versions

Using the Version History option in the workflow designer page, you can:

  • View a history of versions of your workflow.
  • Access and edit previous versions of a workflow if needed.
Note: 

Workflow version numbering scheme

Workflow version numbers are generated based on the following scheme:

  • First save of a workflow generates a draft version of your workflow. The version number is 0.1.
  • First publish of a workflow generates a published version of your workflow. The version number is 1.0.
  • Every next publish adds a 1.0-increment to the previous published version.
  • Every next save adds a 0.1-increment to the latest version of the workflow.
  • Same conventions apply when saving or publishing earlier versions of a workflow.

    Sample scenarios

    Current latest version of workflowVersion you are viewingAction you take after making changes to the workflowNew version of workflow
    New (no previous versions exist)n/aSave0.1
      Publish1.0
    1.0sameSave1.1
      Publish2.0
    3.4sameSave3.5
      Publish4.0
    4.02.3Save4.1
      Publish5.0

Variables

Variables allow you to store values from a start event or action in the workflow so you can use it later. In addition, you can create variables directly from the Variables pane in the toolbar and pass it for use throughout the workflow.

For more information about variables and creating variables, see Variables.

Test a workflow

Workflow testing allows you to run an instance of your workflow without publishing and exiting the workflow designer. Once you initiate a workflow test, you can close the workflow testing dialog and continue to work in the workflow designer. The test will be running in the background and you can launch the workflow testing dialog to view the results or complete a task.

When the workflow is running within the Workflow testing dialog, you can dynamically:

  • View the instance details, configuration errors, tasks, and test status.
  • Manually refresh the instance and task details.
  • Terminate a running instance.
  • Perform any user action required in the task.

If your workflow is not completely configured and you want to test a specific section, you can choose to disable the unconfigured actions and test the desired section(s). For information about how to disable actions, see Disable or enable an action.

Note: 
  • If you make any changes to the workflow that is currently running within the Workflow testing dialog, the changes will not be reflected in the workflow test unless you start a new test.
  • Only one workflow test can be run at a time.
  • Workflow testing currently does not support:

    • Start events with object variables (connector-based start events, such as Salesforce)
    • File start event variables, which are not from Nintex Forms

  • Workflow instances and tasks that are tested using Workflow testing will not be displayed in the Instances and Tasks pages. You can view the tested instances and tasks only within the Workflow testing dialog box.

For more information, see Workflow testing tabs, fields, and buttons.

Clear the designer canvas

  • On the toolbar at the top of the Designer page, click New.

Navigate to unconfigured actions

You can easily navigate to the unconfigured actions in your workflow.

  • On the toolbar at the top right of the Workflow designer, click the arrows next to Unconfigured to move to the next or previous unconfigured action. The configuration panel of the unconfigured action is displayed.

View upgrade details

Workflow upgrade details displays upgrade details about actions in workflows after it is upgraded to Nintex Workflow Cloud from Nintex for Office 365. You can view details of what actions were upgraded without issue and what items are not supported or requires further review.

View workflow upgrade details after upgrading

  1. Open the upgraded workflow.

  2. On the top right of the toolbar, click Workflow upgrade details.

Note: Only available for workflows that have been upgraded from Nintex for Office 365.