Workflows

Note: 
  • Solutions is currently in beta. The changes described in this topic are only available to the customers participating in the beta program. For more information, see the Nintex Beta terms document.
  • Availability of this feature depends on your license and requires switching to the Nintex CE Platform. For information about the Nintex CE Platform, see Platform Experience; for information about your license, reach out to your Account Manager; and for information about trialing this feature, see Free Trials.

The Assets page lets you create new workflows, import workflows from a file, and manage existing workflows.

View workflows in a solution

  1. Go to Solutions > All solutions.

  2. Select the solution you want to access from the list. This opens a list of assets in the solution.

  3. On the submenu, click Workflows.

Create a workflow

  1. On the Assets page, click Create asset.

  2. Select Workflow from the drop-down.

The workflow designer appears and you can begin creating a workflow. In the workflow designer, you can create, save, and publish workflows. For more information about the workflow designer and creating workflows, see Workflow designer and Create a workflow.

Import a workflow

The import function allows you to import an asset, such as a workflow. You can import it as a new workflow or overwrite an existing one. Use the zip file created during export to import the workflow.

  1. On the Assets page, click Import.
  2. Select Workflow.
  3. Select File.
  4. Browse and select the file to import.
  5. Click Open.
  6. In Workflow name, type a name for your workflow.
    • To overwrite an existing workflow, type the name of the workflow you wish to overwrite and select Override if there is an existing workflow with the same name.

    • To retain default values, select Keep default values of external variables.

  7. Click Import.

The imported workflow appears at the top of the workflow asset list with the specified workflow name. Imported workflows are set to Draft status, with Edited by set to the name of the user who imported the workflow.

You can configure the values of the imported workflow using the Configure workflow panel. For more information about workflows, see Workflows.

Manage workflows

You can edit, delete, and export workflows with the options available in the Assets page.

Important: 
  • When you edit or create a form in a workflow and define a data variable for that form, the table names displayed in the drop-down will be those available in the solution to which the workflow belongs. If you want to add more tables, create a table asset in the solution.
  • Assets inherit design-time permissions from the solution. To give users design-time access to an asset, add them to the solution with the appropriate solution role. For more information, see Assets.

Each workflow on the Assets page has an options menu with actions relevant to that workflow. Some options are common to all workflows, while others depend on the workflow type or status.

  • To open the options menu, find the workflow you want and click that's displayed on the right of the workflow.

For information about the different options available, see Workflow options () .

Edit a workflow

  • On the Assets page, click the name of the workflow you want to open, or click next to the workflow and select Open.

Delete a workflow

  • On the Assets page, click next to the workflow and select Delete.

Workflows columns, settings, and selections

Asset type Column, setting, or selection Description
Workflows

Workflow name

Workflow name specified when the workflow was saved or published. Drafts of published workflows include the icon .

 

Type

Workflow type as counted for subscription licenses. 

  • Development: Intended for testing and development use only. Counts as a development workflow under your subscription license.

  • Production: Intended for production use. Counts as a production workflow under your subscription license.

 

Status

Published or draft status of the workflow.

  • Published: All workflows that are published show the Published status.

  • Draft: A draft workflow is a saved workflow that's not published.

If you edit a published workflow and save the changes, it becomes a draft version of that workflow and is given the status Draft.

 

Last edited

The date and time that the workflow was saved or published.

 

Edited by

The name of the user who saved or published the workflow.

 

Workflow options ()

Lists selections relevant to the indicated workflow.

  • Edit: Opens the workflow in the Workflow designer.
  • Delete: Deletes the workflow from the solution.
  • Pause: Ignores the configured start event if it occurs; does not start the workflow.
  • Export: Displays the Export workflow dialog box, listing the file to be downloaded.