Manage users

Promaster A Nintex Promapp system administrator who administers a Nintex Promapp site and has rights to view and edit all areas of a Nintex Promapp site. privilege is required.

Promasters A Nintex Promapp system administrator who administers a Nintex Promapp site and has rights to view and edit all areas of a Nintex Promapp site. can administer access to your Nintex Promapp site through the Manage Users page. Here they can add, edit, disable or delete users, and administer access privileges.

View users

  • Go to Admin > Users on the top-right of your Nintex Promapp site.

The Manage Users page displays the list of active users.

Note: 
  • Filter the list based on the first letter of the Last Name.
  • Search for a particular user using the search box.
  • Sort the list using the column headers.
  • To display the list of inactive users, click settings and then click Display Inactive Users.
  • Click export  on the top-right to export user details.

User privileges

Nintex Promapp has the following 3 user privileges:

Privilege Description
User
  • Can create and edit processes if they are the Process Owner or Process Expert.
  • Can view some reports and can edit Roles and Responsibilities based on permissions.
Business Analyst
  • Can create processes and edit all processes (changes logged in normal way) if not restricted via viewing permission.
  • Can view all reports (except Orphaned Variation Process and Process Variations) and can edit Roles and Responsibilities.

Note: Business Analysts do not have administration rights.

Promaster
  • Is a system administrator
  • Can create and edit all processes.
  • Can perform all Nintex Promapp system administration tasks.

User rights

For more information about user rights, see:

Add a user

  1. Go to Admin > Users. The Manage Users page displays.
  2. Click Add User.
  3. Type the First Name and Last Name.

  4. Type a unique Logon name.
  5. Type the Email.

  6. Add Teams & Locations details if you have enabled the Training Add-on.

  7. Click Add Role/Responsibility.
  8. Select the Roles(s) and click Update.
  9. Click save.

The new user is created and displayed.

Import users

Caution: It is recommended to always import users in small batches especially if you have a large number of existing users or if you are importing a large number of users at one time.

  1. Go to Admin > Users. The Manage Users page displays.
  2. Click settings on the top-right and then click Import Users.
  3. In the Import Users dialog box, click Template to download the CSV template file.
  4. Click Choose File and select the CSV file with the user details. Ensure that the UserName, FirstName, LastName, and Email columns are filled, with the first row being the header. The following check boxes are available:
    • Auto add roles from CSV: Select if you want any new roles specified in the import file to be automatically created in Nintex Promapp. The import will create a new role if it cannot find an existing role.

      Note: If the Roles column is left blank, existing roles will not be deleted.

    • Apply users' viewing permissions from CSV: Select if you want any group permission specified in the import file to be added to existing group permissions or be applied to a new user.

    • Use passwords from CSV: Select if you want the passwords specified in the import file to become the user's password.

    • Send welcome/reset password emails: Select if you want the user to receive notifications for new/amended login details.

  5. Click Import. The import progress is displayed in the dialog and the import details are displayed once the process is completed.

The users are imported and you can manage them from the Manage Users page.

Edit a user

  1. Go to Admin > Users. The Manage Users page displays.
  2. Click edit to the right of the user record you want to edit.
  3. Make the required changes:
    • Disable User: Deactivates a user - once deactivated the user will not be able to log in to the Nintex Promapp site.
    • Reset Password: A password reset email is sent to the user.
  4. Click save.

The user details are updated.

Delete a user

Caution: Generally, we don't recommend deleting users. The best practice is to disable a user, even if you plan to delete after a certain period of time. When disabled, users are still the Process Owner or Expert of their processes. Feedback and Change Log entries submitted by a deleted user will continue to show, but the name will be followed by (DELETED) to indicate that the user has been deleted.

Important:  To delete a user, their ownership and rights must first be transferred to another user. For more information, see How do I transfer ownerships and rights from one user to another?

  1. Go to Admin > Users. The Manage Users page displays.
  2. Click edit to the right of the user record you want to edit.
  3. To delete a user, click delete.

Disable a user

  1. Go to Admin > Users. The Manage Users page displays.

  2. Click edit to the right of the user record you want to disable.
  3. Click Disable User.
  4. Click save.

View disabled users

  1. Go to Admin > Users. The Manage Users page displays.
  2. Click settings on the top-right and then click Display Inactive Users.

Enable a user

  1. Go to Admin > Users. The Manage Users page displays.
  2. Click settings on the top-right and then click Display Inactive Users.
  3. Click edit to the right of the user record you want to enable.
  4. Click Enable User.
  5. Click save.

Export users

If you want to make changes to the existing users, you can export to CSV, edit the file and then import it.

  1. Go to Admin > Users. The Manage Users page displays.
  2. On the top-right, click export to export the list of users to CSV format.

You can make the required changes and import the file as described below. The import will update the existing users details if a match is found based on the username, or first name, last name, and email address combination.

User management FAQs