Default File Storage deprecation FAQ

What is Default file storage?

The Default file storage page is a configuration within your Nintex Workflow Cloud Settings that lets you determine where received files are stored during the progress of a workflow instance. The Default file storage location is used for uploaded files and for files stored as outputs from actions.

What's changing about Default file storage?

Soon Nintex Workflow Cloud will manage files which need to be temporarily stored during a workflow execution, which removes the need for you to provision or manage an electronic file sync and share (EFSS) account.

Why remove Default file storage, and what are the benefits of Nintex Workflow Cloud managing files instead?

We’re removing the dependency of a Default file storage account in response to customer feedback, and to make the design and execution of workflows easier.

Nintex Workflow Cloud will provide a ready-to-use and built-in storage solution, which does not require any set up or maintenance. In addition, Nintex's file storage solution will:

  • Improve workflow instance execution performance and reliability.
  • Remove the need to build a Default-file-storage-clean-up process into your workflows.

  • Automate holding, processing, cleaning up any files required for your workflow instances.
  • Remove the need to configure, maintain, and pay costs for an electronic file sync and share account.

My tenant uses Default file storage. What do I need to do?

Nothing yet. We'll introduce the option for you to disable Default file storage soon. When you disable Default file storage, Nintex Workflow Cloud will begin to manage files which are stored temporarily during a workflow execution.

You'll have the option to re-enable Default file storage for your Nintex Workflow Cloud tenant if you need to, but Default file storage will eventually be deprecated altogether.

We'll let you know when the option to switch to Nintex's file storage solution becomes available.