Manage connections

Use the Connections page to set up and manage connections Credentials and other settings that enables workflows to communicate with external systems, services, or applications. It's required to pass data between the workflow and the indicated service, which could be a cloud service, business application, or content store.. Connections securely authenticates your tenant with external services, such as Salesforce, Microsoft, and other supported connectors to pass data between your tenant and the service.

Use the Connections page to create and manage the connections. You can:

  • Create new connections.

  • Edit existing connections.

  • Delete connections you no longer need.

  • Assign Owner and User permissions.

  • Identify and repair invalid connections.

A connection stores the credentials and configuration for a specific connector.

Important: 
  • You can create up to 1000 connections per tenant.

  • If your workflow is configured to start when an item is updated and also includes an action that updates the same item, we recommend using different connections with separate accounts for the start event and action. For more information, see Best practices when designing workflows.

View the Connections page

To view the Connections page:

  1. Go to Integrations.

  2. Select the tab you want to view:

    • Workflows

    • Apps

  • Go to Agents > Connections.

Add a connection

Edit, delete connections

Assign permissions to connections

There are two types of connection permissions: Owners and Users. These permissions determine who can manage a connection and who can only use it.

Owners:

  • Use connections in workflows.
  • Edit or delete connections.
  • Assign Owner/ User permissions to other tenant members.

Users:

  • Use existing connections.
  • Users cannot assign connection permissions to other tenant members.
  • Users cannot edit and delete connections.
Note: 
  • The tenant member who creates a connection is automatically assigned Owner permissions for that connection.

  • Tenant administrators have Owner permissions for all connections in the tenant.

Follow these steps to assign connection permissions from the Connections page:

  1. Open the Connections page.

  2. Select the Workflow or Apps tab.

  3. To the right of the connection to which you want to assign permissions, click .

  4. Select Permissions from the options menu.
  5. In the window, assign Owner or User permissions using one of the following methods:
    • Assign permissions to all tenant members:
      1. Click in the Owners or Users field.
      2. Click Everyone.
      3. Click Save permissions.
    • Assign permissions to a group:
      1. Click in the Owners or Users field.
      2. Select the Group you want to assign permission to from the GROUPS list.
        • Hover over the name of the group and click Show members to see the list of members in the group.
      3. Click Save permissions.

      For information about adding and editing groups, see Create, edit, and manage user groups.

    • Assign permissions to individual tenant members:
      1. Type the name in the Owners or Users fields.
      2. Select the users to whom you want to assign permissions.
      3. Click Save permissions.

Identify invalid connections

  1. Open the Connections page.

  2. Select the Workflow or Apps tab.

  3. Under the Name column, look for any instances of the invalid indicator ().
  4. Click .
  5. Select Edit from the options menu.
  6. Update the configurations as required.

Troubleshooting

If you receive a publish error stating that you do not have permission to use one or more connections in the workflow or agentflow, or that a connection has been deleted, use the following troubleshooting steps to resolve the issue:

  • Verify that the required connections are created in the tenant where the workflow or agentflow was imported. If needed, Add a connection in the correct tenant.

  • Contact your administrator to Assign permissions to connections.

  • Update the actions and forms where the connection has been used and replace it with the new connection. If needed, Add a connection.