Orchestration permissions

Orchestration permissions determine who can access, edit, and manage orchestrations and their instances. The orchestrations available to a user depend on their assigned role and whether they have been granted owner permissions. Orchestration owners can be assigned when saving or publishing an orchestration.

Orchestration permissions can be assigned or removed by:

  • Orchestration owners

  • Global Administrators

  • Automation Administrators

Permissions can be assigned to individual users or groups.

Role-based access

  • Global administrator or Automation administrator role: These users have full access to all orchestrations in the tenant. They can view, edit, manage, and assign permissions for all orchestrations.

  • Other users: Other users can view and edit only those orchestrations where they have been assigned as orchestration owners.

For information about all user roles and their permissions, see User roles.

Orchestration owners

Orchestration owners can:

  • Edit and modify the orchestration

  • Assign or remove permissions

  • View orchestration instances and tasks

Users with an Administrator role have the same permissions as orchestration owners.

Note: 
  • Every orchestration must have at least one orchestration owner (user or group) assigned.

  • You cannot remove yourself from the orchestration owners list.

Assigning orchestration owners when saving

  1. Open the orchestration.

  2. On the toolbar, click Save or Save as.

  3. Enter the Orchestration name.

  4. In the Orchestration owners field select the users or groups. Orchestration owners have permission to edit this orchestration along with you.

    • To assign Orchestration owners to a group of users:
      1. Click in the Orchestration owners field. A drop-down menu appears listing the groups and users in the tenancy.
      2. Select the Group you want to assign permission to from the GROUPS list.
        • Hover over the name of the group and click Show members to see the list of members in the group.

      Note: GROUPS list is shown only if there are groups created in the tenant. For information about adding and editing groups, see Create, edit, and manage user groups.

    • To Orchestration owners permissions to an individual user:
      1. Click in or type the names of users in the Orchestration owners field. A drop-down menu is displayed with users related to your search query.
      2. Select the users you want to assign owner workflow permissions to.
  1. Click Save.

Assigning orchestration owners when publishing

All steps of the orchestration must be configured before you publish it.

  1. Open the orchestration.

  2. On the toolbar, click Publish.

  3. Enter the Orchestration name.

  4. In the Orchestration owners field select the users or groups. Orchestration owners have permission to edit this orchestration along with you.

    • To assign Orchestration owners to a group of users:
      1. Click in the Orchestration owners field. A drop-down menu appears listing the groups and users in the tenancy.
      2. Select the Group you want to assign permission to from the GROUPS list.
        • Hover over the name of the group and click Show members to see the list of members in the group.

      Note: GROUPS list is shown only if there are groups created in the tenant. For information about adding and editing groups, see Create, edit, and manage user groups.

    • To Orchestration owners permissions to an individual user:
      1. Click in or type the names of users in the Orchestration owners field. A drop-down menu is displayed with users related to your search query.
      2. Select the users you want to assign owner workflow permissions to.
  5. Click Publish.