Terminate Current Workflow

Note: This is an external action and may execute on servers running outside your data centerCentralized locations used to house servers used by Nintex for remote storage, processing, or distribution of data. Nintex has a number of regional data centers available for Nintex for Office 365. For information about Nintex data centers and where your data center is located, contact your Nintex account or territory manager. region. Before implementing, consider performance and regional concerns where digital boundaries are an issue. For more information, see In-tenant and external actions.

Terminates the current workflow instance, with a resulting status of “Terminated.” Associated tasks are unaffected; that is, terminating a workflow instance does not change the status of the tasks that it created.

Note: Workflow instances listed in the Completed Workflows section of the Workflows page cannot be terminated.

Unlike the action Terminate Workflow Instances, this action manages only a single instance of the current workflow as part of the workflow process.

You can use this action to terminate an instance of the current workflow if a certain condition exists. For example, in a workflow that includes a branch for processing payment, if payment is not received within a particular time period, then you may want to terminate the workflow as the remaining actions become irrelevant.

Action settings

Do one of the following to open the Action configuration window:

  • Double-click the action.
  • Click on the action and then click Configure.

See Action configuration window for more information.

Field Description
Reason terminated

(Required field.) Enter text representing the reason for termination. This text is logged to the workflow history. For example, you can reference a workflow variable from the output of a previous action.

Note: To see text added to the error message for a workflow instance terminated by this action, view the Workflow Status page for the workflow instance. The error message is logged under Workflow History; it is also visible if you click More Information (the blue icon) to the right of Internal Status. The added text appears after the phrase “Exception:” .

For more information about how to use Lookups in configuration fields, see Lookups in action configuration fields.