Discard check out item

Use the Discard check out item actionA tool for building the processes, logic, and direction within workflows. to discard the checkout status of an item. If you check out an item and do not make any changes to it or decide not to keep any changes done, you can simply discard the check out.

By discarding the checkout, you can avoid making new versions when you have not made any changes to the file.

Before you start 

Add and configure the Discard check out item action

  1. Click the Libraries and Lists action group in the action toolbox.
  2. or

    Type the action name or function in the Search field at the top of the action toolbox.

  1. Drag the Discard check out item action to the designer canvas.
  2. Open the Action configuration window. For steps on how to open the Action configuration window, see Action configuration window.
  3. Select the document library the Item is in.
  4. Specify Where the item is located.
  5. Click Save.

For more information about Discard check out items fields and settings, see Discard check out item fields, buttons and settings