Minimum permissions

Given below are the minimum permissions a user must have in order to perform operations with Nintex for Office 365.

For more information about permission levels in SharePoint, see User permissions and permission levels in SharePoint.

Nintex Workflow for Office 365

Operation Minimum permissions

Install Nintex Workflow for Office 365

Site collection administrator

Open the Nintex Workflow designer
  • List: Full control
  • Site: Edit
  • Site collection: Read
Publish a workflow
  • List: Full control
  • Site: Design

Run a workflow

  • List: Contribute
  • Site: Contribute

Nintex Forms for Office 365

Operation Minimum permissions

Install Nintex Forms for Office 365

Site collection administrator

Open the Nintex Forms designer
  • List: Full control
  • Site: Read
  • Site collection: Read
Publish a form
  • List: Full control
  • Site: Contribute
Open Nintex Forms in runtime

Permissions for runtime varies depending on individual requirement, for example allowing a user to only view or allowing a user to add, edit, delete and view. In a standard site any of the default permission levels that best match the permission requirements can be used . For example, the following permission levels can be used:

  • Contribute
  • Read

  • If you go outside the standard permission levels and grant a user custom permissions to Add and View only, the user will not be able to add files and items or use the Signature control. This limitation occurs because uploading files is performed after the list item is created, and adding files is considered an edit action by SharePoint. As a work around to this limitation, ensure that Edit permission is granted to the user.
  • If applying unique permissions to a list, in order to allow users to access the Nintex Forms app, you must ensure that the user has the following Site Permissions applied at the site level:

    • View Pages

    • Browse User Information
    • User Remote Interfaces
    • Open

For more information about SharePoint user permissions and permission levels, see User permissions and permission levels.